Donuts made easy!

Donuts…oh, they are just like little bites of Heaven, aren’t they?  In an ideal world, where donuts were healthy and calorie free, I think I would eat them quite often.  Too often.   They are a REAL treat in our house.  I bet I could count on my hands the number of times my boys have had them in their lives.

If you know me at all, you know that I am a pinterest junkie.  Seriously, I could spend all my free time (and NOT SO free time) on there if I could.   Yesterday, I came across this blog post by Little Bit Funky.  She made semi-homemade donuts out of Grands biscuits!  Seriously!  I had those in the refrigerator!  All you need is biscuits, oil, sugar, cinnamon, butter, and a round cookie cutter (I have PLENTY of those!).  I will admit, I was a bit hesitant about the oil.  I have never deep fried anything, butI figured I would figure it out as I went.

School starts for the boys on Monday….it could be a special breakfast treat for them, right? (as I write this post, I am wondering who I really made these for…the boys or me?)    I will be declared the best mom ever, I think!  I’d say we’re in business!

Ingredients:

  • canned biscuits (any brand seem to work as long as they aren’t the flakey variety) I used Grands
  • sugar
  • butter
  • cinnamon
  • oil

The first thing you want to do is take your round cookie cutter and cut a circle out of the middle.  Save those little circles…they are perfect for donut holes!
Image
I poured just enough oil in the pan to cover the bottom.  Once the oil was hot, I placed the donuts in the pan.  I think they took like 2 minutes or so to brown.  I flipped them and did the same on the other side.  The sides weren’t cooked all the way because of the low oil amount.  So I had to  lay them on their sides for a minute.

Once they looked cooked (I just eye balled this), I dipped them on both sides in a bowl of butter (low fat they are not).  Then my boys dropped them into a paper bag that had sugar and cinnamon in it.  Their favorite part was shaking the donuts around to coat them.  **Side note** Next time, I think I would just sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on the donuts rather than coat them. In other words, I felt they had too much sugar on them.

Image

Despite having a little too much sugar, they were SO good especially when they’re warm!!  Melt in your mouth deliciousness!  The outside of the donuts had a little crispness and the inside was SO soft.  It was a perfect combination in texture.

Image

I will definitely make these again on another special day!!   Kid and mom approved!

Image

One thought on “Donuts made easy!

Leave a Reply

