White Chicken Chili

Image

Let’s talk chili…..

In America, we love chili.  We have chili cook offs at rodeos and public gatherings.  Everyone thinks their chili is the best.  Really, it’s true!  Why else would so many people enter chili contests? Growing up in Texas, the only chili I ever remember eating was chili with kidney beans and ground beef.  In my eyes, my dad made the best chili!  Sadly, he never entered a contest to verify that though.

Last Halloween, I attended a costume party where my friends made chili.  I think in total there were 6 or 7 types of chili.  EACH delicious in their own way.  I will admit, I was mighty impressed with my friends’ cooking.  One of my generous friends shared her delicious recipe with me.  Her recipe was a white chicken chili which was totally foreign to me.  Like I said, chili to me was red filled with kidney beans and ground beef.  Apparently, in Colorado they have a different idea of chili,  and I LIKE IT!

Fast forward one year…..we’ve since moved out of Colorado to Maryland.  The weather has changed which means it’s chili weather!  I dug and dug around in my cookbooks trying to find the recipe from last year.  It’s gone…the movers must have taken it!!  Darn them!

I sent out a call on Facebook for white chicken chili recipes the other day.  I also came across this recipe.  I had everything I needed for the recipe in my pantry so I threw it together.  Then I saw the message from my friend and decided to merge the two recipes.  SCORE!

Seriously, this is one GLORIOUS pot of chili!!  Maybe I should enter it in a chili cookoff? =)  See what I told you…everyone thinks their chili is the best!

Did I mention you throw all of this in a crockpot? That makes it even more appealing, right? So without further adieu…..

CROCKPOT WHITE CHICKEN CHILI

Printable Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2-3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup green salsa verde
  • 2 cans (15-1/2 ounces each) great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) chicken broth (I used fat free, reduced sodium)
  • 2 cans (4 ounces each) chopped green chilies
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • Sprinkle of cayenne pepper
  • 4 oz cream cheese (I used the reduced fat)
  • Possible toppings: jalapenos, sour cream, shredded cheese
Directions
In a skillet, saute the chicken pieces and onion until no longer pink.  While that is cooking, add the salsa, beans, broth, corn, chilis, salt, cumin, oregano, pepper, and cayenne pepper to the crock pot.  Cook on low for 6-7 hours.  Twenty minutes before you are prepared to eat, stir in the cream cheese.  Once the cheese is mixed completely, serve.  You can add toppings such as jalapenos, sour cream, or shredded cheese, if desired.
Makes 6 servings
Weight Watchers Points Plus: 8 points (calculated on the WW website)

My kids who lately seem to be the pickiest kids ever even ate this!  Oh and it’s Weight Watcher Point Plus friendly!!   Sadly, there was only one bowl left and it’s gone.

I think I might cry….

Leave a Reply

