Wooly Spider Whoopie Pies with Pumpkin Buttercream

I love Halloween, but what I love more than Halloween is Halloween food.  On good days in October, my kids will either help me with a special Halloween recipe or they’ll get a special Halloween treat.  Two years ago, we had special Halloween foods for every day in the month of October.  I strive every day for that sort of mommy over-achieverness, but it doesn’t happen often.

Today, I went through an old  Halloween cookbook ….Halloween Food, Fun, & Crafts.  I saw the recipe for these spider pies and just KNEW that my boys would love them!  The original recipe calls for a marshmallow filling, but I decided to try a pumpkin buttercream filling instead.  I admit, I am a bit of a nut for buttercream AND pumpkin…the combination just sounded too good!  To me, it was no contest…marshmallow or pumpkin buttercream….

Wooly Spider Whoopie Pies
Printable Recipe

Makes 6 pies

 Ingredients for Whoopie Pies
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder 
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup chocolate sprinkles
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 candy coated chocolate pieces
  • chocolate candy coating melted

Ingredients for Pumpkin Buttercream

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-2 pounds confectioner’s sugar (use your discretion on the consistency)
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray 2 cookie sheets with nonstick cooking spray or line your cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  • Melt chocolate candy coating according to the package directions.  Place the melted chocolate in a zip-lock bag or icing bag and then cut off the tip. “Draw” the desired shape of the spider leg with the bagged chocolate on wax paper.  They will dry and harden while you are preparing all of the rest of the ingredients.   
  • Sift flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in medium sized bowl. Beat butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer at medium speed until blended. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk, beating at low-speed after each addition until smooth and well blended. Spoon scant 1/4 cupfuls 2 inches apart onto prepared cookie sheets.
  • Bake 12 minutes or until puffed and tops spring back when lightly touched. Cool on cookie sheets 10 minutes. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.  (At this step, I took my spatula and flattened half of the cookies)
  • Meanwhile, mix together all of the ingredients listed for the Pumpkin Buttercream until smooth. Add enough confectioners’ sugar to reach your desired consistency.
  • Place sprinkles on small plate. Place chocolate chips in small microwaveable bowl; microwave in 30-second intervals, stirring in between, until smooth.
  • Spread rounded side of six cakes with melted chocolate. Dip in sprinkles; place candy-coated pieces on top to create eyes. Cool completely.
  • Spread bottom of remaining cakes with cream filling;  Top with dipped cake halves and then insert 8 legs per spider.
 
Notes:  
I had the eyes made in advance (made with royal icing) with my cookie supplies.  The original recipe calls for candy coated candies (like M&M’s).  You could pretty much use anything for the eyes.  Georganne from LilaLoa has this great tutorial on how to make googly eyes!
Once I had the spider’s body assembled, I CAREFULLY inserted the legs on the sides.  They are very delicate so make sure you have extra legs.  

Spider legs pipped with candy coating – these do not need to be straight lines…a little curve is always good!

This is the whoopie pie dough before it is cooked.

Is it weird that I can hear a conversation between these guys in my head?  I think they are a bit cute…way cuter than any spider I have EVER seen!

Thanks for looking! Let me know if you give these guys a try!!

2 thoughts on “Wooly Spider Whoopie Pies with Pumpkin Buttercream

  1. Lene — they look fantastic!! I can’t wait to give them a try (to be honest, though, I’m going to stick with the marshmallow filling — pumpkins are wonderful to look at, but to eat? No thanks!! :-)). Hope all is well in Columbia. Lots of love, Viv & boys

Leave a Reply

