Read Across America on Dr. Seuss’s Birthday (with cookies!)

If you asked me today to list 10 of my favorite things, I believe that 5 of those things would be books.  I love books (like A LOT!).  One of my favorite things to do when I am all by my lonesome (which is rare these days) is to browse through the book store.  Fiction, nonfiction, juvenile literature  classic literature, chic lit, historical fiction, self help books, autobiographies…you get the point.

My husband and I read every night with our boys.  It started when I was pregnant with my 9-year-old.  I would read aloud to him and rub my belly….hoping my love of books would rub off on him (osmosis!).  Now 9 years later, I still read aloud to him.  The books have changed, of course, but the motivation behind it has not.  It is important to me for my children to share my love of books.  Oh and once upon a time, I was a Reading teacher.  ;-)

If you are a parent, you probably know (or maybe not) that March 2nd is Dr. Seuss’s birthday.  But did you know it also is Read Across America Day (observed on March 1st this year due to Dr. Seuss’s birthday falling on the weekend)?  Yes, there is such a day!  I think it’s a good excuse to not clean my house and to sit on the couch and just read ALL day long.  I can dream, right?

As I am not a teaching these days and can not share my excitement with my classroom, I thought it would be fun to make Read Across America Day cookies. My boys and I are going to drop them off to the teachers and staff at our school tomorrow morning.

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

DSC_0517

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

DSC_0554

Read Across America - Not Your Everyday Cookie

I’ve told you before, you DO learn something new every day.  Go get comfortable on the couch and read. If you have children, remember to read a story to them. =)
Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Read Across America on Dr. Seuss’s Birthday (with cookies!)

Leave a Reply

