Gingerbread Sour Cream Pancakes

IMGP1309

We are in the midst of the holiday season, and this time of year, my favorite flavor and scent is gingerbread!  This morning, I planned in my head that I would make gingerbread cookies today when I put my mom hat away.  Sadly, when I went to get out of all my ingredients, I realized that I didn’t have everything that I needed!  I was out of brown sugar!  How is that?  I really don’t know.  Maybe our Elf on the Shelf, Charlie, ate it all?

I was in a real pickle.  The whole family was expecting gingerbread cookies.  I also found myself running out of time…I had no idea what the plan was for dinner.  My go-to dinner when I don’t have a “plan” is brinner (b-breakfast inner for dinner…Yes, we are just THAT creative in our house!). I decided to make gingerbread pancakes.  I couldn’t find a single gingerbread pancake recipe in my 567 cookbooks so I decided to alter a favorite pancake recipe that I made in October.  The original recipe is the Pioneer Woman’s Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes.

Give these a try!  They are a perfect Sunday morning breakfast (or Saturday brinner!)!

Enjoy!!

IMGP1311

Gingerbread Sour Cream Pancakes

Printable Recipe

Gingerbread Sour Cream Pancakes
Adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks – Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes

Makes approximately 14 pancakes – this recipe is doubled from the original

  • 1 cup minus 1 tablespoon all purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3 tablespoons molasses
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • Butter
  • Maple Syrup

Heat a cast iron skillet or griddle over medium-low heat; you want it to slowly get nice and hot.

Stir the flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and salt together in the bottom of a medium bowl. Dump the sour cream and molasses in on top and stir it together very gently; it’s okay to leave the texture a bit uneven. Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl and stir them into the sour cream mixture, once again, being careful not to over mix.

Melt about a tablespoon of butter in your skillet or griddle and pour the batter in, a scant 1/4 cup at a time. Cook for about 2 minutes on the first side, or until bubbles appear all over the surface.  Flip them carefully and cook for about a minute on the other side. Repeat with remaining batter.

Serve in a stack, topped with a pat of butter and drizzle with maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

